Highway 42 & Sitkum Road
Brethren Church/IOOF Hall
Originally located on the north east corner of 7th and Spruce, the building now houses
Dee's Market. In 1878, the first church building was constructed near the mouth of the
North Fork on land donated by Captain Rackleff. In 1898, this building was town down and
the lumber used to build another church building in Myrtle Point. In 1949, that building was sold
and the church moved into the old grade school on Railroad Avenue (now the
The members of the Brethren Church dressed similar to the "Amish". Very plain clothes with men
wearing shirts without collars or neckties. The women wore bonnets and never cut their hair,
but kept it tied in a bun at the back.
The Brethren church closed their doors in the 1980's in Myrtle Point, but still retain ownership of Camp
Myrtlewood, located 10 miles to the east, in Bridge.
Source: The way it really was in Coos and Curry County, by Boyd Stone, 1993, p. 19-20 and others
When the building was moved to its present location, the exiting building was raised and a new lower
story added. The upstairs was used for many years as the meeting hall for the IOOF (Independant Order of Odd Fellows) Fraternity.
Dee's market was started over 50 years ago by Dee Richardson. A story about Dee was written in the
Myrtle Point Herald. A Herald reader recalled a story where a young patron
of the store paid for their purchases with Monopoly money for many years - while the girl's
mother quietly exchanged them dollar for dollar.
Source: Myrtle Point Herald, June 8, 2006 in Through our door: praise and reminisces, p.8